From the Vault: NBL Classic Matches | #14

Looking for some basketball to watch?

With the Sal’s NBL Men’s and Women’s competitions, along with Women’s D-League, currently looking at Modified Competitions for 2020,  we’ve gone through the archives to bring you some classic NBL games from yesteryear to watch!

If you have any games you’d like to see, or have access to recorded games you can share, please let us know by contacting us here.


NBL Classic Match #14: 2015 WBC Grand Final | Otago Gold Rush vs. Auckland Counties Manukau Lady Hawks

The Final of the 2015 Women’s Basketball Championship featured Oceana Gold Rush Otago and Auckland Counties Manukau Lady Hawks. Otago entered the game boasting the best record in the competition, a 13-1 record. When the two teams met during the regular season Otago had recorded a 64-59 win.

Kalani Purcell amassed 11 first quarter rebounds as ACM edged a low scoring stanza 14-12. The second quarter was equally tight as both sides struggled to find any shooting rhythm, ACM still ahead 28-26 at half-time – ACM point guard Jordan Hunter led all scorers with 9 points at the break.

Four points each from Janet Main and Samara Gallaher kick started an Otago surge early in the second half before Hailey Purcell replied for the Hawks. When Soraya Umaga-Jensen banked in a three with 3:30 left in the third period the Otago lead had blown out to almost game winning proportions, 49-30, further extended to 53-34 with 10 minutes remaining.

Gallaher and Jillian Harmon dominated the early exchanges in the the fourth quarter to ensure there would be no hint of an ACM come back, Otago cruising to their second WBC title. The first achieved in 2011.

Jordan Hunter, Hailey Purcell and Kalani Purcell battled valiantly for the Hawks but the Otago effort, paced by point guard Janet Main, Harmon and Gallaher was relentless.


Auckland Counties Manukau Lady Hawks 43 

All-Star Five: 

  • Jessica Bygate (Nelson Sparks)
  • Jessica Tuki (Waikato Wizards)
  • Jillian Harmon (Otago Gold Rush)
  • Jordan Hunter (Auckland Counties Manukau Lady Hawks)
  • Samarah Gallaher (Otago Gold Rush)



Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.