Kiwis On the Charge in the ANBL

The number of Kiwis in the Australian NBL has risen to 20 following the news on Good Friday that Hyrum Harris has been snapped up by the Cairns Taipans as an Injury Replacement Player (IRP).

It's thought to be the highest number of New Zealanders involved in the ANBL in a single season.

Harris played for the Property Brokers Manawatu Jets in 2020 and had recently signed to play for the Taylor Hawke's Bay Hawks this year.

He is one of 11 players who featured at the 2020 Sal's NBL Showdown to have taken up contracts in the 2020/21 ANBL season.

With the ANBL running months behind its normal season timing, teams in the Sal's NBL are hoping Kiwis in the Australian competition can get back to New Zealand by June 24 to ensure they can play enough games to qualify for finals.  

Under the season 2021 rules put in place by the teams, a maximum of two Kiwis on ANBL contracts can be signed by each Sal's NBL team. 

Rules for the 2021 Sal's NBL Salary System and Rosters can be found HERE.

 The 20 Kiwis playing in the ANBL this season are:


NZ Breakers

Tom Abercrombie

Rob Loe

Corey Webster

Tai Webster

Finn Delany

Isaac Davidson

Taine Murray


SEM Phoenix

Reuben Te Rangi

Yanni Wetzell

Izayah Mauriohooho-Le’afa

Mike Karena


Melbourne United

Shea Ili


Cairns Taipans

Jarrod Kenny

Jordan Ngatai

Jordan Hunt

Hyrum Harris


Perth Wildcats

Taylor Britt


Sydney Kings

Tom Vodanovich


Brisbane Bullets

Tyrell Harrison


Illawarra Hawks

Max Darling


Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.