NZ Select Teams Snap Up Schick 3X3 Cup Invitational Spots

The teams for the inaugural Schick 3X3 Cup have been finalised with the competition's two invitational spots snapped up by Basketball New Zealand's High Performance programme.

In both the men's and women's competitions, a New Zealand Select (NZ Select) team will compete against the country's leading NBL franchises.

In making the announcement, New Zealand's Head of High Performance, Leonard King, pointed to building the strength and depth of the nation's 3X3 teams as a key reason for joining the competition in the 2020 invitational spots.  

"We are super excited to have NZ Select teams as part of the Schick 3x3 Cup, this competition will become an integral part of the National team pathway as we see our best players compete against each other," said King.

"In past years we have struggled to find meaningful competition for our New Zealand teams to compete in and to secure qualification points for global competitions. Having our teams compete in the Schick 3x3 Cup ticks many boxes from a National perspective, including having our National coaches gain valuable experience in coaching this version of the game.

"New Zealand has an impressive reputation globally in the 3x3 version of the game. We possess great talent, exceptional coaching and our players are well suited to this faster version of the sport.

"We are confident that the New Zealand sporting public will embrace this version of the game as they become more knowledgeable and comfortable with the rules and as they develop an appreciation for the superb skills our emerging superstars display on the 3x3 court," added King.

All 20 teams are now locked in for the September 3-5 event to be played at ILT Stadium Southland in Invercargill.

Tickets to the three-day event will go on sale to the general public from Monday August 17.


Schick 3X3 Cup - Women

  • Northland Phoenix
  • Auckland Dream
  • Harbour Breeze
  • Waikato Wizards
  • Bay of Plenty Blaze
  • Taranaki Thunder
  • Capital Swish
  • Canterbury Wildcats
  • Otago Gold Rush
  • NZ Select

Schick 3X3 Cup - Men

  • Auckland Huskies
  • Franklin Bulls
  • Hawke's Bay Hawks
  • Taranaki Mountainairs
  • Manawatu Jets
  • Tasman Suns
  • Canterbury Rams
  • Otago Nuggets
  • Southland Sharks
  • NZ Select

Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.