Past Champions

1985 NBL Champions: Wellington Saints

In 1985 the competition expanded from eight to ten teams. 1984 Conference Basketball League (CBL) champions New Plymouth were promoted along with 1984 CBL runners-up, Palmerston North. Wellington Saints and Auckland faced off against each other for the third consecutive year and in one of the more memorable Grand Finals. After being sent into overtime, the game was decided with a Kenny McFadden three-point buzzer beater to give Wellington back-to-back titles!


10 teams contested the 1985 season (final standings): Wellington Saints, Auckland, Canterbury Rams, Hamilton, Palmerston North Jets, Nelson Giants, Ponsonby, New Plymouth Bulls, Centrals and Napier Sunhawks.

Grand Final:

Wellington Saints (114) defeated Auckland (111) (Referees: Keith Milligan & John Burton)

Season Award Winners:

  • Most Outstanding Guard (Keith Carr Trophy): Tyrone Brown (Palmerston North Jets)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Guard (John Macdonald Trophy): Tony Smith (Hamilton)
  • Most Outstanding Forward (Commissioners Cup): Ronnie Joyner (Ponsonby)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Forward/Centre (Stan Hill Trophy): Stan Hill (Auckland)
  • Scoring Champion (Alan Bland Memorial Trophy): Ronnie Joyner (52.65) (Ponsonby)
  • Rebounding Champion (Garry Pettis Memorial Trophy): Willie Burton (16.17) (Palmerston North Jets)
  • Assist Champion (Dave Taylor Trophy): Kenny McFaddden (Wellington Saints)
  • Regular Season Winners: Auckland
  • Best Team Free Throws¬†(Nial Forsyth Trophy): Palmerston North Jets

All-Star Five:

  • Tyrone Brown (Palmerston North Jets)
  • Willie Burton (Palmerston North Jets)
  • Stan Hill (Auckland)
  • Ronnie Joyner (Ponsonby)
  • Kenny McFadden (Wellington Saints)



Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.