Past Champions

1990 NBL Champions: Canterbury Rams

The 1990 season was expanded to include twelve teams, with Hutt Valley, Otago and Waitakere joining the league. Waitemata was the team to drop out of the league. The Canterbury Rams went back-to-back for the first time, defeating the Nelson Giants in the first Grand Final that featured both South Island teams.


12 teams contested the 1990 season (final standings): Canterbury Rams, Nelson Giants, Palmerston North Jets, Hutt Valley Lakers, New Plymouth Bulls, North Harbour Vikings (previously North Shore), Wellington Saints, Hawke’s Bay Hawks, Waitakere Rangers, Waikato Warriors, Otago Nuggets and Auckland Cannons.

Grand Final:

Canterbury Rams (76) defeated Nelson Giants (73) (Referees: John Burton & Robin Milligan)

Season Award Winners:

  • Regular Season Winners: Nelson Giants (18-4)
  • Most Outstanding Guard (Keith Carr Trophy): Jamie Dixon (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Guard (John Macdonald Trophy): Byron Vaetoe (New Plymouth Bulls)
  • Most Outstanding Forward (Commissioners Cup): Kerry Boagni (Wellington Saints)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Forward/Centre (Stan Hill Trophy): Glen Denham (Canterbury Rams)
  • Scoring Champion (Alan Bland Memorial Trophy): Jamie Dixon (39.19) (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • Rebounding Champion (Garry Pettis Memorial Trophy): Willie Burton (14.50) (Palmerston North Jets)
  • Assist Champion (Dave Taylor Trophy): Chris Harper (New Plymouth Bulls)
  • Best Team Free Throws¬†(Nial Forsyth Trophy): New Plymouth Bulls
  • Young Player of the Year: Kent Mori (Palmerston North Jets)
  • Coach of the Year: Matt Ruscoe (Nelson Giants)

All-Star Five:

  • Kerry Boagni (Wellington Saints)
  • Willie Burton (Palmerston North Jets)
  • Jamie Dixon (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • Kenny Stone (Nelson Giants)
  • Nenad Vucinic (Nelson Giants)



Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.