Past Champions

1992 NBL Champions: Canterbury Rams

1992 would see the Canterbury Rams equal the Wellington Saints record of four NBL titles. After finishing fourth in the regular season, the Rams would go on to defeat Otago and Hutt Valley before toppling the Palmerston North Jets in the decider.


12 teams contested the 1992 season (final standings): Canterbury Rams, Palmerston North Jets, New Plymouth Bears, Hutt Valley Lakers, Nelson Giants, Otago Nuggets, Hawke’s Bay Hawks, Auckland Stars (previously Auckland Cannons), Waitakere Rangers, Waikato Warriors, Wellington Saints and North Harbour Vikings.

Grand Final:

Canterbury Rams (79) defeated Palmerston North Jets (71) (Referees: Keith Milligan & Donnette Daly)

Season Award Winners:

  • Regular Season Winners: New Plymouth Bears (19-3)
  • NZ Most Valuable Player: Neil Stephens (Wellington Saints)
  • Most Outstanding Guard (Keith Carr Trophy): Tyrone Brown (New Plymouth Bears)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Guard (John Macdonald Trophy): Warwick Meehl (Waitakere Rangers)
  • Most Outstanding Forward (Commissioners Cup): Donnell Thomas (Nelson Giants)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Forward/Centre (Stan Hill Trophy): Neil Stephens (Wellington Saints)
  • Scoring Champion (Alan Bland Memorial Trophy): Kerry Boagni (31.27) (Wellington Saints)
  • Rebounding Champion (Garry Pettis Memorial Trophy): Joe Turner (14.86) (Waitakere Rangers)
  • Assist Champion (Dave Taylor Trophy): Tyrone Brown (New Plymouth Bears)
  • Best Team Free Throws¬†(Nial Forsyth Trophy): New Plymouth Bears
  • Rookie of the Year: Pero Cameron (Waikato Warriors)
  • Coach of the Year: Steve McKean (New Plymouth Bears)

All-Star Five:

  • Tony Brown (Hutt Valley Lakers)
  • Tyrone Brown (New Plymouth Bears)
  • Willie Burton (New Plymouth Bears)
  • DeWayne McCray (Palmerston North Jets)
  • Donnell Thomas (Nelson Giants)



Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.