Past Champions

1999 NBL Champions: Auckland Rebels

Only nine teams contested the 1999 NBL season. The Northland Suns announced their decision to quit the league, whilst the Hawke’s Bay Hawks were relegated to the Conference Basketball League (CBL). The Auckland Rebels defeated the Canterbury Rams in the Grand Final, claiming a record sixth league title.


9 teams contested the 1999 season (final standings): Auckland Rebels, Canterbury Rams, North Harbour Kings, Wellington Saints, Nelson Giants, Waikato Warriors, Taranaki Oilers, Otago Nuggets and Palmerston North Jets.

Grand Final:

Auckland Rebels (79) defeated Canterbury Rams (72) (Referees: Stan Battock & John Butler)

Season Award Winners:

  • Regular Season Winners: Auckland Rebels (12-4)
  • NZ Most Valuable Player: Pero Cameron (Auckland Rebels)
  • Most Outstanding Guard (Keith Carr Trophy): Terrence Lewis (Wellington Saints)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Guard (John Macdonald Trophy): Kirk Penney (North Harbour Kings)
  • Most Outstanding Forward (Commissioners Cup): Chris Ensminger (North Harbour Kings)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Forward/Centre (Stan Hill Trophy): Pero Cameron (Auckland Rebels)
  • Scoring Champion (Alan Bland Memorial Trophy): Terrence Lewis (34.0) (Wellington Saints)
  • Rebounding Champion (Garry Pettis Memorial Trophy): Chris Ensminger (12.75) (North Harbour Kings)
  • Assist Champion (Dave Taylor Trophy): Willie Burton (5.6) (Palmerston North Jets)
  • Best Team Free Throws¬†(Nial Forsyth Trophy): Waikato Warriors
  • Rookie of the Year: Tony Rampton (Taranaki Oilers)
  • Coach of the Year: Tab Baldwin (Auckland Rebels)

All-Star Five:

  • G: Terrence Lewis (Wellington Saints)
  • G: Phill Jones (Otago Nuggets)
  • F: Scott Benson (Auckland Rebels)
  • F: Pero Cameron (Auckland Rebels)
  • C: Chris Ensminger (North Harbour Kings)



Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.