Past Champions

2001 NBL Champions: Waikato Titans

The 2001 season was the 20th running of the NBL. A new champion was crowned in 2001, with the newly named Waikato Titans securing their first NBL championship. Clifton Bush was a mainstay for the Titans, finishing the season as the leagues top point scorer, as the team went on a record 15-game winning streak on their way to the title.


9 teams contested the 2001 season (final standings): Waikato Titans (previously Waikato Warriors), Wellington Saints, Nelson Giants, Auckland Stars (previously Auckland Rebels), Palmerston North Jets, Canterbury Rams, North Harbour Kings, Hawke’s Bay Hawks and Otago Nuggets.

Grand Final:

Waikato Titans (112) defeated Wellington Saints (97) (Referees: Stan Battock & Ken Coulson)

Season Award Winners:

  • Regular Season Winners: Waikato Titans (15-1)
  • NZ Most Valuable Player: Phill Jones (Nelson Giants)
  • Most Outstanding Guard (Keith Carr Trophy): Phill Jones (Nelson Giants)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Guard (John Macdonald Trophy): Phill Jones (Nelson Giants)
  • Most Outstanding Forward (Commissioners Cup): Clifton Bush (Waikato Titans)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Forward/Centre (Stan Hill Trophy): Terrence Lewis (Canterbury Rams)
  • Scoring Champion (Alan Bland Memorial Trophy): Clifton Bush (24.4) (Waikato Titans)
  • Rebounding Champion (Garry Pettis Memorial Trophy): Brian Gomes (14.4) (North Harbour Kings)
  • Assist Champion (Dave Taylor Trophy): Paul Henare (5.1) (Auckland Stars)
  • Best Team Free Throws¬†(Nial Forsyth Trophy): Wellington Saints
  • Rookie of the Year: Damon Rampton (Nelson Giants)
  • Coach of the Year: Nenad Vucinic (Nelson Giants)
  • Administrator of the Year: Janie Granger (Nelson Giants)

All-Star Five:

  • G: Hayden Allen (Otago Nuggets)
  • G: Phill Jones (Nelson Giants)
  • F: Clifton Bush (Waikato Titans)
  • F: Brian Gomes (North Harbour Kings)
  • C: Pero Cameron (Waikato Titans)



Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.