Past Champions

2002 NBL Champions: Waikato Titans

The Waikato Titans followed up their ’01 maiden title by going back-to-back as they secured their second NBL championship. Led by Tall Blacks star Dillon Boucher, the Titans went on to defeat the Nelson Giants in an end-to-end encounter played in front of a boisterous Nelson crowd.


9 teams contested the 2002 season (final standings): Waikato Titans, Nelson Giants, Canterbury Rams, Manawatu Jets (previously Palmerston North Jets), Wellington Saints, Auckland Stars, Harbour Kings (previously North Harbour), Hawke’s Bay Hawks and Otago Nuggets.

Grand Final:

Waikato Titans (85) defeated Nelson Giants (83) (Referees: Ken Coulson, Dallas Pickering & Gavin Whiu)

Season Award Winners:

  • Regular Season Winners: Nelson Giants (11-5)
  • NZ Most Valuable Player: Terrence Lewis (Canterbury Rams)
  • Most Outstanding Guard (Keith Carr Trophy): Terrence Lewis (Canterbury Rams)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Guard (John Macdonald Trophy): Terrence Lewis (Canterbury Rams)
  • Most Outstanding Forward (Commissioners Cup): John Whorton (Canterbury Rams)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Forward/Centre (Stan Hill Trophy): Ed Book (Nelson Giants)
  • Scoring Champion (Alan Bland Memorial Trophy): Ron Grady (25.1) (Otago Nuggets)
  • Rebounding Champion (Garry Pettis Memorial Trophy): John Whorton (13.4) (Canterbury Rams)
  • Assist Champion (Dave Taylor Trophy): Carlo Varricchio (5.3) (Canterbury Rams)
  • Best Team Free Throws¬†(Nial Forsyth Trophy): Otago Nuggets
  • Rookie of the Year: Miles Pearce (Manawatu Jets)
  • Coach of the Year: John Watson (Canterbury Rams)
  • Administrator of the Year: Janie Granger (Nelson Giants)

All-Star Five:

  • G: Mark Dickel (Wellington Saints)
  • G: Terrence Lewis (Canterbury Rams)
  • F: Dillon Boucher (Waikato Titans)
  • F: John Whorton (Canterbury Rams)
  • C: Ed Book (Nelson Giants)



Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.