Past Champions

2008 NBL Champions: Waikato Pistons

The Waikato Pistons claimed their third league title, defeating the Wellington Saints 2-0 in the best-of-three Finals Series. Pistons guard Jason Crowe was named the leagues MVP after a dominant season.


10 teams contested the 2008 season (final standings): Waikato Pistons, Wellington Saints, Nelson Giants, Auckland Stars, Harbour Heat, Hawke’s Bay Hawks, Taranaki Mountainairs, Canterbury Rams, Manawatu Jets and Otago Nuggets.

Grand Final (Best Of Three Series):

  • Game One: Waikato Pistons (95) defeated Wellington Saints (78) (Referees: Gavin Whiu, Dallas Pickering & Andy Thackray)
  • Game Two: Waikato Pistons (84) defeated Wellington Saints (79) (Referees: Dallas Pickering, Gavin Whiu & Tim Brown)

Season Award Winners:

  • Regular Season Winners: Wellington Saints (14-4)
  • Most Valuable Player: Jason Crowe (Waikato Pistons)
  • NZ Most Valuable Player: Casey Frank (Auckland Stars)
  • Finals MVP: Puke Lenden (Waikato Pistons)
  • Most Outstanding Guard (Keith Carr Trophy): Jason Crowe (Waikato Pistons)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Guard (John Macdonald Trophy): Phill Jones (Nelson Giants)
  • Most Outstanding Forward (Commissioners Cup): Casey Frank (Auckland Stars)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Forward/Centre (Stan Hill Trophy): Casey Frank (Auckland Stars)
  • Scoring Champion (Alan Bland Memorial Trophy): Brian Wethers (27.6) (Waikato Pistons)
  • Rebounding Champion (Garry Pettis Memorial Trophy): Antoine Tisby (10.8) (Otago Nuggets)
  • Assist Champion (Dave Taylor Trophy): Jason Crowe (8.3) (Waikato Pistons)
  • Best Team Free Throws¬†(Nial Forsyth Trophy): Harbour Heat
  • Rookie of the Year: Tyrone Davey (Auckland Stars)
  • Coach of the Year: Doug Marty (Wellington Saints)
  • Referee of the Year: Gavin Whiu
  • Administrator of the Year: Sarah Moulder (Nelson Giants)
  • Media Award: Adrian Seconi (Otago Daily Times)

All-Star Five:

  • G: Jason Crowe (Waikato Pistons)
  • G: Brian Wethers (Waikato Pistons)
  • F: Ernest Scott (Wellington Saints)
  • F: Casey Frank (Auckland Stars)
  • C: Nick Horvath (Wellington Saints)



Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.