Past Champions

2009 NBL Champions: Waikato Pistons

The Waikato Pistons followed up their 2008 league triumph by going back-to-back to claim their fourth NBL championship. Only nine teams contested the league with the Otago Nuggets dropping out after several disappointing seasons. The Canterbury Rams also withdrew from the competition in late 2008, replaced by new franchise the Christchurch Cougars. 2009 will also be remembered for the breakout season had by teenage rookie and future star Thomas Abercrombie, collecting rookie and forward of the year gongs plus all-star five selection.


9 teams contested the 2009 season (final standings): Waikato Pistons, Nelson Giants, Wellington Saints, Christchurch Cougars, Harbour Heat, Hawke’s Bay Hawks, Manawatu Jets, Auckland Stars and Taranaki Mountainairs.

Grand Final (Best Of Three Series):

  • Game One: Waikato Pistons (81) defeated Nelson Giants (69) (Referees: Tim Brown, Dallas Pickering & Andy Thackray)
  • Game Two: Waikato Pistons (94) defeated Nelson Giants (84) (Referees: Dallas Pickering, Melony Wealleans & Andy Thackray)

Season Award Winners:

  • Regular Season Winners: Waikato Pistons (14-2)
  • Most Valuable Player: Phill Jones (Nelson Giants)
  • NZ Most Valuable Player: Phill Jones (Nelson Giants)
  • Finals MVP: Justin Bailey (Waikato Pistons)
  • Most Outstanding Guard (Keith Carr Trophy): Mike Efevberha (Wellington Saints)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Guard (John Macdonald Trophy): Phill Jones (Nelson Giants)
  • Most Outstanding Forward (Commissioners Cup): Thomas Abercrombie (Waikato Pistons)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Forward/Centre (Stan Hill Trophy): Thomas Abercrombie (Waikato Pistons)
  • Scoring Champion (Alan Bland Memorial Trophy): Mike Efevberha (27.8) (Wellington Saints)
  • Rebounding Champion (Garry Pettis Memorial Trophy): Jamil Terrell (10.3) (Manawatu Jets)
  • Assist Champion (Dave Taylor Trophy): Paul Henare (6.5) (Christchurch Cougars)
  • Best Team Free Throws (Nial Forsyth Trophy): Wellington Saints (77.4%)
  • Rookie of the Year: Thomas Abercrombie (Waikato Pistons)
  • Coach of the Year: Dean Vickerman (Waikato Pistons)
  • Referee of the Year: Tim Brown (Auckland)
  • Administrator of the Year: Ange Agnew (Waikato Pistons)
  • Media Award: Geoff Longley (The Press)

All-Star Five:

  • G: Mike Efevberha (Wellington Saints)
  • G: Phill Jones (Nelson Giants)
  • F: Thomas Abercrombie (Waikato Pistons)
  • F: Adam Ballinger (Waikato Pistons)
  • C: Tim Behrendorff (Christchurch Cougars)



Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.