Past Champions

2013 NBL Champions: Southland Sharks

Nine teams contested the 2013 NBL season although there were several team changes from the year prior. The Waikato Pistons and Super City Rangers reentered the league with the Auckland Pirates and Harbour Heat both dropping out. Despite finishing fourth, the Southland Sharks claimed their maiden title, upsetting title favourite and minor premiers Wellington in the semifinals, before defeating the Nelson Giants in the decider. NBL legend Lindsay Tait had another stellar season for the Saints, being named the leagues MVP as well as securing several other season awards.


9 teams contested the 2013 season (final standings): Southland Sharks, Nelson Giants, Wellington Saints, OceanaGold Nuggets, Manawatu Jets, Taranaki Mountainairs, Hawke’s Bay Hawks, Waikato Pistons, Super City Rangers.

Grand Final:

Southland Sharks (92) defeated Nelson Giants (81) (Referees: Tim Brown, Melony Wealleans & Dallas Pickering)

Season Award Winners:

  • Regular Season Winners: Wellington Saints (14-2)
  • Most Valuable Player: Lindsay Tait (Wellington Saints)
  • NZ Most Valuable Player: Lindsay Tait (Wellington Saints)
  • Finals MVP: Leon Henry (Southland Sharks)
  • Most Outstanding Guard (Keith Carr Trophy): Lindsay Tait (Wellington Saints)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Guard (John Macdonald Trophy): Lindsay Tait (Wellington Saints)
  • Most Outstanding Forward (Commissioners Cup): Brian Conklin (Southland Sharks)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Forward/Centre (Stan Hill Trophy): B.J. Anthony (OceanaGold Nuggets)
  • Scoring Champion (Alan Bland Memorial Trophy): Josh Pace (22.9) (Nelson Giants)
  • Rebounding Champion (Garry Pettis Memorial Trophy): Zack Atkinson (14.6) (Waikato Pistons)
  • Assist Champion (Dave Taylor Trophy): Lindsay Tait (8.1) (Wellington Saints)
  • Best Team Free Throws¬†(Nial Forsyth Trophy): Nelson Giants (77.3%)
  • Rookie of the Year: Tai Webster (Waikato Pistons)
  • Coach of the Year: Paul Henare (Southland Sharks)
  • Referee of the Year: Tim Brown (Auckland)
  • Administrator of the Year: Sharona Gordon (Nelson Giants)

All-Star Five:

  • G: Lindsay Tait (Wellington Saints)
  • G: Josh Pace (Nelson Giants)
  • F: B.J. Anthony (OceanaGold Nuggets)
  • F: Brian Conklin (Southland Sharks)
  • C: Nick Horvath (Manawatu Jets)



Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.