Past Champions

2014 NBL Champions: Wellington Saints

Ten teams contested the 2014 season with the Canterbury Rams reentering the league following a five year hiatus. The Wellington Saints, led by Tall Blacks guard Corey Webster, secured their eighth NBL title as they defeated the minor premier Hawke’s Bay Hawks in the decider.


10 teams contested the 2014 season (final standings): Wellington Saints, Hawke’s Bay Hawks, Nelson Giants, Southland Sharks, Manawatu Jets, Waikato Pistons, Super City Rangers, Otago Nuggets, Canterbury Rams and Taranaki Mountainairs.

Grand Final:

Wellington Saints (85) defeated Hawke’s Bay Hawks (69) (Referees: Tim Brown, Dallas Pickering & Gavin Zimmerman)

Season Award Winners:

  • Regular Season Winners: Hawke’s Bay Hawks (15-3)
  • Most Valuable Player: Corey Webster (Wellington Saints)
  • NZ Most Valuable Player: Corey Webster (Wellington Saints)
  • Finals MVP: Lindsay Tait (Wellington Saints)
  • Most Outstanding Guard (Keith Carr Trophy): Corey Webster (Wellington Saints)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Guard (John Macdonald Trophy): Corey Webster (Wellington Saints)
  • Most Outstanding Forward (Commissioners Cup): Suleiman Braimoh (Taranaki Mountainairs)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Forward/Centre (Stan Hill Trophy): Duane Bailey (Super City Rangers)
  • Scoring Champion (Alan Bland Memorial Trophy): Jason Cadee (26.7) (Super City Rangers)
  • Rebounding Champion (Garry Pettis Memorial Trophy): Nick Horvath (15.9) (Manawatu Jets)
  • Assist Champion (Dave Taylor Trophy): Mark Dickel (9.1) (Otago Nuggets)
  • Best Team Free Throws¬†(Nial Forsyth Trophy): Nelson Giants (77.0%)
  • Rookie of the Year: Richie Edwards (Canterbury Rams)
  • Coach of the Year: Tab Baldwin (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • Referee of the Year: Tim Brown (Auckland)
  • Administrator of the Year: Tanya Dearns (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • Media Award: Sam Worthington (Dominion Post)

All-Star Five:

  • G: Jason Cadee (Super City Rangers)
  • G: Corey Webster (Wellington Saints)
  • F: Dustin Scott (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • F: Suleiman Braimoh (Taranaki Mountainairs)
  • C: Jamal Boykin (Nelson Giants)



Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.