Past Champions

2016 NBL Champions: Wellington Saints

The 2016 season only had seven teams contest the league after the Manawatu Jets withdrew. McKenzie Moore and Marcel Jones led the Canterbury Rams to the playoffs for the first time since 2003 and the teams first minor premiership since 1993, only to fall short in the semifinals. The Wellington Saints equaled Auckland’s record of nine NBL championships as they defeated the Super City Rangers in Invercargill to claim the 2016 title.


7 teams contested the 2016 season (final standings): Wellington Saints, Supercity Rangers, Canterbury Rams, Southland Sharks, Nelson Giants, Taranaki Mountainairs and Hawke’s Bay Hawks.

Grand Final:

Wellington Saints (94) defeated Super City Rangers (82) (Referees: Tim Brown, Dallas Pickering & Melony Wealleans)

Season Award Winners:

  • Regular Season Winners: Canterbury Rams (13-5)
  • Most Valuable Player: McKenzie Moore (Canterbury Rams)
  • NZ Most Valuable Player: Marcel Jones (Canterbury Rams)
  • Finals MVP: Tai Wesley (Wellington Saints)
  • Most Outstanding Guard (Keith Carr Trophy): McKenzie Moore (Canterbury Rams)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Guard (John Macdonald Trophy): Shea Ili (Wellington Saints)
  • Most Outstanding Forward (Commissioners Cup): Marcel Jones (Canterbury Rams)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Forward/Centre (Stan Hill Trophy): Marcel Jones (Canterbury Rams)
  • Scoring Champion (Alan Bland Memorial Trophy): Eric Devendorf (25.8) (Super City Rangers)
  • Rebounding Champion (Garry Pettis Memorial Trophy): Alex Pledger (11.4) (Southland Sharks)
  • Assist Champion (Dave Taylor Trophy): McKenzie Moore (8.2) (Canterbury Rams)
  • Best Team Free Throws¬†(Nial Forsyth Trophy): Nelson Giants
  • Rookie of the Year: Logan Elers (Taranaki Mountainairs)
  • Coach of the Year: Ross McMains (Taranaki Mountainairs)
  • Referee of the Year: Matt Bathurst (Canterbury)
  • Administrator of the Year: Bernie Smith (Taranaki Mountainairs)
  • Media Award: Logan Savory (Southland Times)

All-Star Five:

  • G: McKenzie Moore (Canterbury Rams)
  • G: Raymond Cowels (Nelson Giants)
  • F: Torrey Craig (Wellington Saints)
  • F: Marcel Jones (Canterbury Rams)
  • C: Alex Pledger (Southland Sharks)



Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.