Past Champions

2017 NBL Champions: Wellington Saints

In 2017 the Wellington Saints become the most successful team in the competitions history after collecting their 10th NBL championship. They also became the first team to ever complete an unbeaten season, capping off a perfect 20-0 campaign as they defeated the Southland Sharks in the Grand Final.


7 teams contested the 2017 season (final standings): Wellington Saints, Southland Sharks, Super City Rangers, Canterbury Rams, Hawke’s Bay Hawks, Nelson Giants and Taranaki Mountainairs.

Grand Final:

Wellington Saints (108) defeated Southland Sharks (75) (Referees: Dallas Pickering, Melony Wealleans & Matt Bathurst)

Season Award Winners:

  • Regular Season Winners: Wellington Saints (18-0)
  • Most Valuable Player: Corey Webster (Wellington Saints)
  • NZ Most Valuable Player: Corey Webster (Wellington Saints)
  • Finals MVP: Shea Ili (Wellington Saints)
  • Most Outstanding Guard (Keith Carr Trophy): Corey Webster (Wellington Saints)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Guard (John Macdonald Trophy): Corey Webster (Wellington Saints)
  • Most Outstanding Forward (Commissioners Cup): Tai Wesley (Wellington Saints)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Forward/Centre (Stan Hill Trophy): Marcel Jones (Canterbury Rams)
  • Scoring Champion (Alan Bland Memorial Trophy): Corey Webster (26.0) (Wellington Saints)
  • Rebounding Champion (Garry Pettis Memorial Trophy): Amir Williams (10.2) (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • Best Team Free Throws¬†(Nial Forsyth Trophy): Wellington Saints
  • Assist Champion (Dave Taylor Trophy): Jarrod Kenny (7.5) (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • Coach of the Year: Kevin Braswell (Wellington Saints)
  • Referee of the Year: Matt Bathurst (Christchurch)
  • Administrator of the Year: Fran Scholey (Wellington Saints)
  • Media Award: Nick Jeffries (Southland Sharks)

All-Star Five:

  • G: Shea Ili (Wellington Saints)
  • G: Corey Webster (Wellington Saints)
  • F: Mitch McCarron (Super City Rangers)
  • F: Marcel Jones (Canterbury Rams)
  • C: Tai Wesley (Wellington Saints)



Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.