Sal’s NBL Stars Snapped Up By ANBL Teams

Sal's NBL Showdown champions Jordan Ngatai and Jarrod Kenny will continue their successful on-court partnership in far north Queensland with both Kiwi stars landing contracts with the Cairns Taipans for the 2021 Australian NBL season.

While at this stage it remains uncertain when the ANBL will start, or whether or not teams will need to move into a 'hub' styled set-up in order for the season to progress, it hasn't stopped teams signing players and preparing for the call to duty.

For Kenny it is a return to the Taipans and the ANBL"s warmest climate, but for Ngatai his new home is an opening to an Australian-based team having previously played for the New Zealand Breakers. Ngatai has secured a two-year deal.

It's been a busy time for players post the Sal's NBL Showdown with Taine Murray (NZ Breakers), Taylor Britt (Perth Wildcats) and Max Darling (Hawks) all signed to ANBL contracts. Though Darling was with the Canterbury Rams for the duration of the Showdown in Auckland he wasn't able to play due to injury.

Other Showdown players rumoured to be in talks with ANBL teams include Izayah Mauriohooho-Le'afa (Huskies), Hyrum Harris (Jets) and Tom Vodanovich (Jets), while Jordan Hunt (Nuggets), Isaac Davidson (Bulls) and Sam Timmons (Bulls), Jack Salt (Rams) are names to also be bandied about.

At this stage no less than 13 Kiwis are on ANBL rosters.

NZ Breakers
Tai Webster, Corey Webster, Tom Abercrombie, Rob Loe, Finn Delany, Taine Murray

Cairns Taipans
Jarrod Kenny, Jordan Ngatai

South-East Melbourne Phoenix
Yanni Wetzell, Reuben Te Rangi

Perth Wildcats
Taylor Britt

Max Darling

Melbourne United
Shea Ili



Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.