Schick 3X3 Cup Rosters Finalised; To Tip Off in Invercargill on 10 Feb 2022

The rosters are now set for the upcoming Schick 3X3 Cup, as a number of big names prepare to head to ILT Stadium Southland next month for three epic days of fast, furious and physical basketball action.

Thu 10 Feb 2022 will see the welcome return of the Schick 3X3 Cup to Invercargill, after the inaugural Cup was held in 2020 - with the Southland Sharks and Auckland Dream taking home the men’s and women’s 3X3 Basketball national titles respectively.

In all, over 80 of New Zealand’s best basketball players – including current Tall Ferns / Tall Blacks and athletes from across the Sal’s NBL Men’s and Women’s NBL comps - will fly into Invercargill for the three-day event, which features 20 teams playing in 70 games across six sessions; each session filled with back-to-back games and non-stop 3X3 action.

Tickets are now available for this event at

The Schick 3X3 Cup will also be broadcast live on Sky Sport 2 from 10-12 Feb, with over 24 hours over basketball action to be screened across three days; 12-4pm and 6–10pm.

NBL General Manager, Huw Beynon, says there’s no shortage of compelling storylines in this top-level 3X3 competition.

“We’ve got 2020 Cup winners the Southland Sharks fielding a brand-new team this year, while runners-up the Hawke’s Bay Hawks have added ex-Sharks veteran Alonzo Burton to their already-imposing line-up of Ethan Rusbatch, Derone Raukawa and Everard Bartlett,” says Beynon.

“And both the Auckland Tuatara and Northland United enter the 3X3 competition for the first time too – it’ll be interesting to see how far these two new teams can progress.

“Meanwhile the Southland Storm and Nelson Sparks enter the Schick 3X3 Cup for the first time, the former with #1 draft pick Tiarna Clarke hoping to lead her team to victory against 2020 Schick 3X3 Cup winners Auckland Dream and Casyn Buchman.

“They’ll have strong competition from 2020 runners-up the Harbour Breeze, led by Tall Fern Ella Fotu and a talented supporting cast – the women’s competition is definitely shaping up to be a highly entertaining battle.”

Beynon says that the popularity of the Schick 3X3 Cup coincides with the rapid growth of 3X3 basketball globally.

“3X3 is now the largest urban team sport in the world and among the most watched online, it’s huge; the high intensity atmosphere and non-stop action is perfect for today’s sporting fan.

“3X3’s global popularity is also evidenced by its recent inclusion in both the 2020 Summer Olympics and upcoming 2022 Commonwealth Games – and many of these Schick 3X3 Cup athletes will in contention for spots on our NZ National Teams.”

View the schedule and team rosters at


Schick 3X3 Cup

When:             10-12 Feb 2022

Where:            ILT Stadium Southland, Invercargill





Schick 3X3 Cup Rosters – Women’s:

Auckland Dream

  • Casyn Buchman (Captain)
  • Olivia Berry
  • Darci Finnigan
  • Sharne Robati

Bay of Plenty Blaze

  • Awatea Leach (Captain)
  • Maka Daysh
  • Kararaina Pene
  • Chelseah Savage

Canterbury Wildcats

  • Nicole Gleason (Captain)
  • Tessa Morrison
  • Gemma Etheridge
  • Zoe Richards

Capital Swish

  • Jacinta Beckley (Captain)
  • Stella Beck
  • Parris Mason
  • Lilly Taulelei

Harbour Breeze

  • Jazzmyne Kailahi-Fulu (Captain)
  • Ella Fotu
  • Ash Kelman-Poto
  • Rosalia Samia

Nelson Sparks

  • Amanda Wayment (Captain)
  • Kat Jones
  • Maia Jones
  • Jelena Vucinic

Otago Gold Rush

  • Nicole Ruske (Captain)
  • Samara Gallaher
  • Olivia O’Neill
  • Josie Stockill

Southland Storm

  • Tiarna Clarke (Captain)
  • Lucy Brown
  • Sarah Hamilton
  • Savanna Handevidt

Taranaki Thunder

  • Joellen How (Captain)
  • Esra McGoldrick
  • Caitlin O'Connell
  • Lauren Tewhata

Waikato Wizards

  • Kayla Manuirirangi (Captain)
  • Terai Elia
  • Matangiroa Flavell
  • Breeana Jones


Schick 3X3 Cup Rosters – Men’s:

Auckland Tuatara

  • Christopher McIntosh (Captain)
  • Zachary Easthope
  • Braydon Iuli
  • Dominique Kelman-Poto

Canterbury Rams

  • Taylor Britt (Captain)
  • Joshua Book
  • Walter Brown
  • Sam Smith

Franklin Bulls

  • Denhym Brooke (Captain)
  • Derek Albertsen
  • Jayden Bezzant
  • Anzac Rissetto

Hawke’s Bay Hawks

  • Ethan Rusbatch (Captain)
  • Everard Bartlett
  • Alonzo Burton
  • Derone Raukawa

Nelson Giants

  • Samuel Dempster (Captain)
  • Thomas Ingham
  • Tyler Marsh
  • Alexander McNaught

Northland United

  • Tukaha Cooper (Captain)
  • Samuel Aruwa
  • Reef Churches
  • Haize Walker

Otago Nuggets

  • Richard Rodger (Captain)
  • Jordan Hunt
  • Nikau McCullough
  • Pafe Momoisea

Southland Sharks

  • Johnny Helu (Captain)
  • Tom Cowie
  • Joshua Leger
  • Nicolas Trathen

Taranaki Airs

  • Tai Wynyard (Captain)
  • Joshua Aitcheson
  • Carlin Davison
  • Dru-Leo Leusogi-Ape

Wellington Saints

  • Kenneth Tuffin (Captain)
  • Quintin Bailey
  • Francis Mulvihill
  • Emmerson Potts-Broughton

Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.