Season MVP And Grand Final MVP Voting Panels Selected

Two of the most prestigious individual awards in the Sal's NBL will be decided by two separate panels made up of coaches, media representatives and league management.

This year's Sal's NBL Awards Night will be held at Christchurch Casino on Friday July 19. Tickets to the event come with a Final 4 VIP Weekend Package and can be purchased HERE

Here's how the voting works.



This is the award presented to the the player deemed to be the Most Valuable Player of the Sal's NBL home and away season (does not include the Final 4).

Over the 14 rounds played during the regular season, after each game the coaches of both teams submit votes (5-4-3-2-1) and those votes are collated.

At the completion of Round 14, the top 10 players on the TAB MVP Leaderboard go through to the final vote, which is completed by a panel of 15 people (listed below). In the event that there is a tie for 10th place on the final Leaderboard, all players tied will be put through to the final vote. Each player must receive a vote, with voting done 10 down to 1 (unless there is a tie for 10th, in which case the final votes will match the number of players in the running), with 10 votes being the highest (10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1). In the event that more than one player ends up on the same number of votes, the League will present more than one MVP award.


The TAB MVP Voting Panel

Judd Flavell (Southland Sharks)

Tim McTamney (Manawatu Jets)

Jeff Green (Supercity Rangers)

Zico Coronel (Hawke's Bay Hawks)

Mike Fitchett (Nelson Giants)

Anthony Stewart (Southern Huskies)

Paul Henare (Wellington Saints)

Mick Downer (Canterbury Rams)

Dave Bublitz (Taranaki Mountainairs)

Brendon Egan (Stuff)

Brent Costelloe (WIN News Tasmania)

Andrew Price (Limited Minutes Podcast)

Huw Beynon (SKY Sports)

Casey Frank (SKY Sports)

Dillon Boucher (NBL Board)

Justin Nelson (NBL GM)

Jordan King (NBL Media)

# This panel will also vote for Coach of the Year, Most Improved Player, Youth Player of the Year, All Star 5, Most Outstanding Guard and Most Outstanding Forward.



The player deemed to be the Most Valuable Player in the Sal's NBL Grand Final will be decided by a panel of seven people. Each person voting will select one player for 3 votes, one player for 2 votes and one player for 1 vote. In the event of a tie, a count-back will be recorded and the player to have received the most 3 votes will win. If still tied, the count-back will move to the most 2 votes received.


The Grand Final MVP Voting Panel

Andrew Price (Limited Minutes)

Brendon Egan (Stuff)

Andrew Mulligan (SKY Sports)

Casey Frank (SKY Sports)

Justin Nelson (NBL GM)

Dillon Boucher (NBL Board)

Jordan King (NBL Media)


(photo credit: Photosport NZ)




Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.