Past Champions

1986 NBL Champions: Canterbury Rams

The 1986 NBL season was contested by ten teams for the second straight year. The only team change saw Centrals replaced by 1985 Conference Basketball League (CBL) champions North Shore. In another change the Napier Sunhawks renamed themselves the Hawke’s Bay Hawks. The Wellington Saints would go on to contest their fourth consecutive Grand Final, this time against the Canterbury Rams. The Rams prevailed in a hard-fought encounter to claim their first NBL title.


10 teams contested the 1986 season (final standings): Canterbury Rams, Wellington Saints, Ponsonby, New Plymouth Bulls, Palmerston North Jets, North Shore, Nelson Giants, Auckland, Hamilton and Hawke’s Bay Hawks.

Grand Final:

Canterbury Rams (87) defeated Wellington Saints (82) (Referees: Robin Milligan & John Burton)

Season Award Winners:

  • Most Outstanding Guard (Keith Carr Trophy): Clyde Huntley (Canterbury Rams)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Guard (John Macdonald Trophy): John Rademakers (Canterbury Rams)
  • Most Outstanding Forward (Commissioners Cup): Frank Smith (Nelson Giants)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Forward/Centre (Stan Hill Trophy): John Saker (Wellington Saints)
  • Scoring Champion (Alan Bland Memorial Trophy): Ronnie Joyner (44.89) (Ponsonby)
  • Rebounding Champion (Garry Pettis Memorial Trophy): Frank Smith (14.78) (Nelson Giants)
  • Assist Champion (Dave Taylor Trophy): Tony Webster (North Shore)
  • Regular Season Winners: Canterbury Rams (16-2)
  • Best Team Free Throws¬†(Nial Forsyth Trophy): Wellington Saints
  • Young Player of the Year: Tony Compain (Ponsonby)

All-Star Five:

  • Clyde Huntley (Canterbury Rams)
  • Ollie Johnson (Wellington Saints)
  • Ronnie Joyner (Ponsonby)
  • Frank Smith (Nelson Giants)
  • Tony Webster (North Shore)



Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.