Past Champions

1991 NBL Champions: Hutt Valley Lakers

The 1991 edition of the league featured the same 12 teams as the previous year. The Hutt Valley Lakers would go on to claim their first NBL title, defeating the Wellington Saints in the Grand Final.


12 teams contested the 1991 season (final standings): Hutt Valley Lakers, Wellington Saints, New Plymouth Bulls, Otago Nuggets, Nelson Giants, Canterbury Rams, North Harbour Vikings, Waitakere Rangers, Palmerston North Jets, Hawke’s Bay Hawks, Waikato Warriors and Auckland Cannons.

Grand Final:

Hutt Valley Lakers (103) defeated Wellington Saints (92) (Referees: Keith Milligan & Stan Battock)

Season Award Winners:

  • Regular Season Winners: Hutt Valley Lakers (19-3)
  • NZ Most Valuable Player: Byron Vaetoe (New Plymouth Bulls)
  • Most Outstanding Guard (Keith Carr Trophy): Eddie Anderson (Canterbury Rams)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Guard (John Macdonald Trophy): Byron Vaetoe (New Plymouth Bulls)
  • Most Outstanding Forward (Commissioners Cup): Darryl Johnson (Hutt Valley Lakers)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Forward/Centre (Stan Hill Trophy): Peter Pokai (Hutt Valley Lakers)
  • Scoring Champion (Alan Bland Memorial Trophy): Ronnie Joyner (34.82) (Waikato Warriors)
  • Rebounding Champion (Garry Pettis Memorial Trophy): Willie Burton (13.64) (New Plymouth Bulls)
  • Assist Champion (Dave Taylor Trophy): Kenny McFadden (Wellington Saints)
  • Best Team Free Throws¬†(Nial Forsyth Trophy): Wellington Saints
  • Young Player of the Year: Warren Adams (Wellington Saints)
  • Coach of the Year: Jeff Green (Hutt Valley Lakers)

All-Star Five:

  • Eddie Anderson (Canterbury Rams)
  • Kerry Boagni (Wellington Saints)
  • Tony Brown (Hutt Valley Lakers)
  • Willie Burton (New Plymouth Bulls)
  • Darryl Johnson (Hutt Valley Lakers)



Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.