Past Champions

1993 NBL Champions: Hutt Valley Lakers

The Hutt Valley Lakers (renamed the Mobil Shakers for the 1993 season) secured their second NBL championship, defeating minor premiers the Canterbury Rams in the Grand Final. 1993 was also memorable for being a breakout season for future star Pero Cameron, named as NZ’s Most Valuable Player at just 19 years of age.


12 teams contested the 1993 season (final standings): Hutt Valley Lakers (Mobil Shakers), Canterbury Rams, Hawke’s Bay Hawks, New Plymouth Bears, Auckland Stars, Palmerston North Jets, Nelson Giants, Waikato Warriors, Wellington Saints, Otago Nuggets, North Harbour Vikings and Waitakere Rangers.

Grand Final:

Hutt Valley Lakers (68) defeated Canterbury Rams (66) (Referees: Stan Battock & Keith Milligan)

Season Award Winners:

  • Regular Season Winners: Canterbury Rams (17-5)
  • NZ Most Valuable Player: Pero Cameron (Waikato Warriors)
  • Most Outstanding Guard (Keith Carr Trophy): Terry Giles (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Guard (John Macdonald Trophy): Byron Vaetoe (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • Most Outstanding Forward (Commissioners Cup): Kerry Boagni (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Forward/Centre (Stan Hill Trophy): Neil Stephens (Auckland Stars)
  • Scoring Champion (Alan Bland Memorial Trophy): Kerry Boagni (32.45) (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • Rebounding Champion (Garry Pettis Memorial Trophy): Pero Cameron (12.32) (Waikato Warriors)
  • Assist Champion (Dave Taylor Trophy): Terry Giles (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • Best Team Free Throws¬†(Nial Forsyth Trophy): Hutt Valley Lakers
  • Rookie of the Year: Mark Dickel (Otago Nuggets)
  • Coach of the Year: James Logan (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)

All-Star Five:

  • Kerry Boagni (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • Willie Burton (New Plymouth Bears)
  • Terry Giles (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • Terrence Lewis (Wellington Saints)
  • Neil Stephens (Auckland Stars)



Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.