Past Champions

1994 NBL Champions: Nelson Giants

The 1994 season saw another team claim their first NBL championship. The Nelson Giants, led by Darryl Johnson, would go on to claim the minor premiership before defeating the Canterbury Rams in another gripping all-South Island decider.


12 teams contested the 1994 season (final standings): Nelson Giants, Canterbury Rams, Hawke’s Bay Hawks, Auckland Stars, Otago Nuggets, Palmerston North Jets, North Harbour Vikings, Taranaki Bears (previously New Plymouth Bears), Waikato Warriors, Wellington Saints, Hutt Valley Lakers and Waitakere Rangers.

Grand Final:

Nelson Giants (67) defeated Canterbury Rams (66) (Referees: Stan Battock & Donnette Daly)

Season Award Winners:

  • Regular Season Winners: Nelson Giants (18-4)
  • NZ Most Valuable Player: Pero Cameron (Auckland Stars)
  • Most Outstanding Guard (Keith Carr Trophy): Leonard King (Otago Nuggets)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Guard (John Macdonald Trophy): Chris Tupu (Canterbury Rams)
  • Most Outstanding Forward (Commissioners Cup): Darryl Johnson (Nelson Giants)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Forward/Centre (Stan Hill Trophy): Pero Cameron (Auckland Stars)
  • Scoring Champion (Alan Bland Memorial Trophy): DeWayne McCray (30.26) (Hutt Valley Lakers)
  • Rebounding Champion (Garry Pettis Memorial Trophy): Willie Burton (13.48) (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • Assist Champion (Dave Taylor Trophy): Wayman Strickland (North Harbour Vikings)
  • Best Team Free Throws¬†(Nial Forsyth Trophy): North Harbour Vikings
  • Rookie of the Year: Konrad Ross (Waikato Warriors)
  • Coach of the Year: Trevor Wright (Nelson Giants)

All-Star Five:

  • G: Leonard King (Otago Nuggets)
  • G: Tony Brown (Palmerston North Jets)
  • F: Darryl Johnson (Nelson Giants)
  • F: DeWayne McCray (Hutt Valley Lakers)
  • C: Pero Cameron (Auckland Stars)



Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.