Past Champions

1998 NBL Champions: Nelson Giants

The 1998 season belonged to the Nelson Giants, claiming the regular season title before securing their second NBL title, defeating the North Harbour Kingsin the championship decider. The 1998 season will also be remembered for having the highest ever scoreline in the leagues history to date, the Canterbury Rams defeating the Northland Suns 179-124.


11 teams contested the 1998 season (final standings): Nelson Giants, North Harbour Kings (previously North Harbour Vikings), Canterbury Rams, Auckland Rebels, Wellington Saints, Taranaki Oilers (previously Taranaki Bears), Palmerston North Jets, Otago Nuggets, Waikato Warriors, Hawke’s Bay Hawks and Northland Suns.

Grand Final:

Nelson Giants (81) defeated North Harbour Kings (73) (Referees: Stan Battock & Ken Coulson)

Season Award Winners:

  • Regular Season Winners: Nelson Giants
  • NZ Most Valuable Player: Phill Jones (Nelson Giants)
  • Most Outstanding Guard (Keith Carr Trophy): Phill Jones (Nelson Giants)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Guard (John Macdonald Trophy): Phill Jones (Nelson Giants)
  • Most Outstanding Forward (Commissioners Cup): Pero Cameron (Auckland Rebels)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Forward/Centre (Stan Hill Trophy): Pero Cameron (Auckland Rebels)
  • Scoring Champion (Alan Bland Memorial Trophy): Ronnie Joyner (31.12) (Northland Suns)
  • Rebounding Champion (Garry Pettis Memorial Trophy): Robert Wilson (14.09) (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • Assist Champion (Dave Taylor Trophy): Mark Dickel (Wellington Saints)
  • Best Team Free Throws¬†(Nial Forsyth Trophy): Wellington Saints
  • Rookie of the Year: Kirk Penney (North Harbour Kings)
  • Coach of the Year: Nenad Vucinic (Nelson Giants)

All-Star Five:

  • G: Joe Wyatt (Nelson Giants)
  • G: Phill Jones (Nelson Giants)
  • F: Darryl Johnson (Wellington Saints)
  • F: DeWayne McCray (Wellington Saints)
  • C: Pero Cameron (Auckland Rebels)



Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.