Past Champions

2000 NBL Champions: Auckland Rebels

Although the 2000 NBL season saw the return of the Hawke’s Bay Hawks, nine teams contested the league for the second consecutive year after the Taranaki Oilers withdrew from the league. The Auckland Rebels secured back-to-back titles, their seventh overall – a new league record.


9 teams contested the 2000 season (final standings): Auckland Rebels, Nelson Giants, North Harbour Kings, Waikato Warriors, Palmerston North Jets, Wellington Saints, Otago Nuggets, Canterbury Rams and Hawke’s Bay Hawks.

Grand Final:

Auckland Rebels (95) defeated Nelson Giants (78) (Referees: Ken Coulson & Stan Battock)

Season Award Winners:

  • Regular Season Winners: North Harbour Kings (12-4)
  • NZ Most Valuable Player: Tony Rampton (Nelson Giants)
  • Most Outstanding Guard (Keith Carr Trophy): Tony Brown (Waikato Warriors)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Guard (John Macdonald Trophy): Tony Brown (Waikato Warriors)
  • Most Outstanding Forward (Commissioners Cup): Tony Rampton (Nelson Giants)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Forward/Centre (Stan Hill Trophy): Tony Rampton (Nelson Giants)
  • Scoring Champion (Alan Bland Memorial Trophy): Troy Coleman (29.1) (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • Rebounding Champion (Garry Pettis Memorial Trophy): Tony Rampton (14.6) (Nelson Giants)
  • Assist Champion (Dave Taylor Trophy): Shaun McCreedy (5.5) (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • Best Team Free Throws¬†(Nial Forsyth Trophy): Wellington Saints
  • Rookie of the Year: Arthur Trousdell (Canterbury Rams)
  • Coach of the Year: Tracy Carpenter (North Harbour Kings)

All-Star Five:

  • G: Tony Brown (Waikato Warriors)
  • G: Terrence Lewis (Wellington Saints)
  • F: Purnell Perry (North Harbour Kings)
  • F: James Hamilton (Nelson Giants)
  • C: Tony Rampton (Nelson Giants)



Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.