Past Champions

2006 NBL Champions: Hawke’s Bay Hawks

After the heartbreak of being on the wrong end of a thrilling Grand Final encounter the year prior, the Hawke’s Bay Hawks didn’t have to wait long to claim their first NBL championship. The Hawks, led by league MVP Paora Winitana, defeated the Auckland Stars in the Grand Final – exacting revenge after losing to the same team in the ’05 decider. This denied the Stars a chance to claim what would have been a record tenth title.


10 teams contested the 2006 season (final standings): Hawke’s Bay Hawks, Auckland Stars, Nelson Giants, Wellington Saints, Manawatu Jets, Harbour Heat, Canterbury Rams, Taranaki Mountainairs, Waikato Pistons (previously Waikato Titans) and Otago Nuggets.

Grand Final:

Hawke’s Bay Hawks (85) defeated Auckland Stars (69) (Referees: Alan Godden, Gavin Whiu & Tim Brown)

Season Award Winners:

  • Regular Season Winners: Auckland Stars (16-2)
  • Most Valuable Player: Paora Winitana (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • NZ Most Valuable Player: Casey Frank (Auckland Stars)
  • Finals MVP: Paora Winitana (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • Most Outstanding Guard (Keith Carr Trophy): Paora Winitana (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Guard (John Macdonald Trophy): Paora Winitana (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • Most Outstanding Forward (Commissioners Cup): Casey Frank (Auckland Stars)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Forward/Centre (Stan Hill Trophy): Casey Frank (Auckland Stars)
  • Scoring Champion (Alan Bland Memorial Trophy): Dennis Trammell (25.6) (Canterbury Rams)
  • Rebounding Champion (Garry Pettis Memorial Trophy): Miles Pearce (11.9) (Otago Nuggets)
  • Assist Champion (Dave Taylor Trophy): Brad Davidson (4.8) (Manawatu Jets)
  • Best Team Free Throws¬†(Nial Forsyth Trophy): Auckland Stars
  • Rookie of the Year: Shaun Tilby (Otago Nuggets)
  • Coach of the Year: Nenad Vucinic (Nelson Giants)
  • Referee of the Year: Alan Godden
  • Administrator of the Year: Jeremy Bayliss (Hawke’s Bay Hawkes)
  • Media Award: Paul Wilson (Napier Mail)

All-Star Five:

  • G: Lindsay Tait (Auckland Stars)
  • G: Paora Winitana (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • F: Josh Pace (Nelson Giants)
  • F: Casey Frank (Auckland Stars)
  • C: Nick Horvath (Wellington Saints)



Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.