Past Champions

2010 NBL Champions: Wellington Saints

The 2010 season was the 29th running of the NBL. Several team changes took place – the Otago Nuggets re-entered the competition following their one year absence, the Southland Sharks entered the league for the first time and the Auckland Stars dropped out. The Wellington Saints secured their sixth title, defeating Waikato in the best-of-three finals series. This also denied the Pistons the opportunity to claim a rare three-peat after their titles in ’08 and ’09.


10 teams contested the 2010 season (final standings): Wellngton Saints, Waikato Pistons, Nelson Giants, Hawke’s Bay Hawks, Harbour Heat, Southland Sharks, Christchurch Cougars, Taranaki Mountainairs, Manawatu Jets and Otago Nuggets.

Grand Final (Best Of Three Series):

  • Game One: Waikato Pistons (80) defeated Wellington Saints (74) (Referees: Tim Brown, Dallas Pickering & Gavin Whiu)
  • Game Two: Wellington Saints (98) defeated Waikato Pistons (69) (Referees: Dallas Pickering, Tim Brown & Andy Thackray)
  • Game Two: Wellington Saints (82) defeated Waikato Pistons (79) (Referees: Dallas Pickering, Tim Brown & Andy Thackray)

Season Award Winners:

  • Regular Season Winners: Wellington Saints (14-4)
  • Most Valuable Player: Lindsay Tait (Wellington Saints)
  • NZ Most Valuable Player: Thomas Abercrombie (Waikato Pistons)
  • Finals MVP: Lindsay Tait (Wellington Saints)
  • Most Outstanding Guard (Keith Carr Trophy): Lindsay Tait (Wellington Saints)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Guard (John Macdonald Trophy): Lindsay Tait (Wellington Saints)
  • Most Outstanding Forward (Commissioners Cup): Thomas Abercrombie (Waikato Pistons)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Forward/Centre (Stan Hill Trophy): Thomas Abercrombie (Waikato Pistons)
  • Scoring Champion (Alan Bland Memorial Trophy): Eric Devendorf (25.6) (Wellington Saints)
  • Rebounding Champion (Garry Pettis Memorial Trophy): Alex Pledger (12.6) (Waikato Pistons)
  • Assist Champion (Dave Taylor Trophy): Lindsay Tait (7.1) (Wellington Saints)
  • Best Team Free Throws¬†(Nial Forsyth Trophy): Manawatu Jets (74.2%)
  • Rookie of the Year: Martin Iti (Southland Sharks)
  • Coach of the Year: Pero Cameron (Wellington Saints)
  • Referee of the Year: Dallas Pickering (Auckland)
  • Administrator of the Year: James King (Nelson Giants)
  • Media Award: Brendan Egan (Southland Times)

All-Star Five:

  • G: Lindsay Tait (Wellington Saints)
  • G: Eric Devendorf (Wellington Saints)
  • F: Rene Rougeau (Southland Sharks)
  • F: Thomas Abercrombie (Waikato Pistons)
  • C: Mika Vukona (Nelson Giants)



Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.