Past Champions

2011 NBL Champions: Wellington Saints

Nine teams contested the 2011 NBL season, the 30th running of the league. A new franchise, the Auckland Pirates, entered the league for the first time. The Christchurch Cougars were an unfortunate withdrawal due to the effects of the 2011 Canterbury earthquake. Led by Lindsay Tait, the Wellington Saints backed up their 2010 title, defeating the Hawke’s Bay Hawks in the Grand Final to claim their seventh championship. 2011 will also be remembered for being Steven Adams one and only season in the NBL, which saw him collect the Rookie of the Year award and a championship with the Saints.


9 teams contested the 2011 season (final standings): Wellington Saints, Hawke’s Bay Hawks, Waikato Pistons, Nelson Giants, Manawatu Jets, Southland Sharks, Auckland Pirates, Taranaki Mountainairs and Otago Nuggets.

Grand Final:

Wellington Saints (106) defeated Hawke’s Bay Hawks (97) (Referees: Tim Brown, Dallas Pickering & Raewyn Willocks)

Season Award Winners:

  • Regular Season Winners: Wellington Saints (13-3)
  • Most Valuable Player: Alex Pledger (Waikato Pistons)
  • NZ Most Valuable Player: Alex Pledger (Waikato Pistons)
  • Finals MVP: Lindsay Tait (Wellington Saints)
  • Most Outstanding Guard (Keith Carr Trophy): Lindsay Tait (Wellington Saints)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Guard (John Macdonald Trophy): Lindsay Tait (Wellington Saints)
  • Most Outstanding Forward (Commissioners Cup): Alex Pledger (Waikato Pistons)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Forward/Centre (Stan Hill Trophy): Alex Pledger (Waikato Pistons)
  • Scoring Champion (Alan Bland Memorial Trophy): Jack Leasure (22.9) (Taranaki Mountainairs)
  • Rebounding Champion (Garry Pettis Memorial Trophy): Nick Horvath (11.7) (Manawatu Jets)
  • Assist Champion (Dave Taylor Trophy): Jason Crowe (7.2) (Waikato Pistons)
  • Best Team Free Throws¬†(Nial Forsyth Trophy): Otago Nuggets (72.6%)
  • Rookie of the Year: Steven Adams (Wellington Saints)
  • Coach of the Year: Dean Vickerman (Waikato Pistons)
  • Referee of the Year: Tim Brown (Auckland)
  • Administrator of the Year: Jill Bolger (Southland Sharks)
  • Media Award: Daniel McHardy (Radio Sport)

All-Star Five:

  • G: Lindsay Tait (Wellington Saints)
  • G: Jason Crowe (Waikato Pistons)
  • F: Thomas Abercrombie (Waikato Pistons)
  • F: Mika Vukona (Nelson Giants)
  • C: Alex Pledger (Waikato Pistons)



Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.