Past Champions

2012 NBL Champions: Auckland Pirates

Nine teams contested the 2012 NBL season – the Harbour Heat reentered the competition whilst the Waikato Pistons dropped out. Despite a great year from the Minor Premier Hawkes’s Bay Hawks, they were unable to secure a spot in the final dance, eliminated in the semifinals by the Wellington Saints. In only their second year in the competition, the Auckland Pirates claimed their first NBL championship, defeating the Saints in a closely fought Grand Final. The 2012 season will also be remembered fondly for the standout performances of Manawatu Jets big man Nick Horvath. Horvath would go on to claim league MVP honours alongside several other awards.


9 teams contested the 2012 season (final standings): Auckland Pirates, Wellington Saints, Hawke’s Bay Hawks, Manawatu Jets, Taranaki Mountainairs, Nelson Giants, Otago Nuggets, Southland Sharks, Harbour Heat.

Grand Final:

Auckland Pirates (89) defeated Wellington Saints (83) (Referees: Dallas Pickering, Gavin Whiu & Yalla Edwards)

Season Award Winners:

  • Regular Season Winners: Hawke’s Bay Hawks (13-3)
  • Most Valuable Player: Nick Horvath (Manawatu Jets)
  • NZ Most Valuable Player: Nick Horvath (Manawatu Jets)
  • Finals MVP: Alex Pledger (Auckland Pirates)
  • Most Outstanding Guard (Keith Carr Trophy): Lindsay Tait (Auckland Pirates)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Guard (John Macdonald Trophy): Lindsay Tait (Auckland Pirates)
  • Most Outstanding Forward (Commissioners Cup): Nick Horvath (Manawatu Jets)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Forward/Centre (Stan Hill Trophy): Nick Horvath (Manawatu Jets)
  • Scoring Champion (Alan Bland Memorial Trophy): Josh Pace (23.0) (Manawatu Jets)
  • Rebounding Champion (Garry Pettis Memorial Trophy): Nick Horvath (15.8) (Manawatu Jets)
  • Assist Champion (Dave Taylor Trophy): Jason Crowe (8.7) (Wellington Saints)
  • Best Team Free Throws¬†(Nial Forsyth Trophy): Hawke’s Bay Hawks (72.2%)
  • Rookie of the Year: Rueben Te Rangi (Harbour Heat)
  • Coach of the Year: Paul Henare (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • Referee of the Year: Melony Wealleans (Wellington)
  • Media Award: Pete McNae (Nelson Mail)

All-Star Five:

  • G: Lindsay Tait (Auckland Pirates)
  • G: Paora Winitana (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • F: Josh Pace (Manawatu Jets)
  • F: Antoine Tisby (Otago Nuggets)
  • C: Nick Horvath (Manawatu Jets)



Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.