Past Champions

2018 NBL Champions: Southland Sharks

The 2018 season had eight teams vying to become Sal’s NBL champions, with the Manawatu Jets returning after a two year hiatus. In a season of twists and turns, one that saw the Wellington Saints unbeaten run come to an end in the first week of the season, it was the Southland Sharks who ultimately prevailed. The Sharks, who were without star playmaker Jarrad Weeks for much of the decider, gained revenge over the Saints for their 2017 Grand Final heartbreak. Defeat for the Saints also dashed any hopes of an historic 3-peat.


8 teams contested the 2018 season (final standings): Southland Sharks, Wellington Saints, Nelson Giants, Hawke’s Bay Hawks, Canterbury Rams, Super City Rangers, Taranaki Mountainairs and Manawatu Jets.

Grand Final:

Southland Sharks (98) defeated Wellington Saints (96) (Referees: Dallas Pickering, Melony Wealleans & Ryan Jones)

Season Award Winners:

  • Regular Season Winners: Wellington Saints (15-3)
  • Most Valuable Player: Shea Ili (Wellington Saints)
  • NZ Most Valuable Player: Shea Ili(Wellington Saints)
  • Finals MVP: Reuben Te Rangi (Southland Sharks)
  • Most Outstanding Guard (Keith Carr Trophy): Shea Ili (Wellington Saints)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Guard (John Macdonald Trophy): Shea Ili (Wellington Saints)
  • Most Outstanding Forward (Commissioners Cup): Finn Delany (Nelson Giants)
  • Most Outstanding NZ Forward/Centre (Stan Hill Trophy): Finn Delany (Nelson Giants)
  • Scoring Champion (Alan Bland Memorial Trophy): Daishon Knight (28.9) (Manawatu Jets)
  • Rebounding Champion (Garry Pettis Memorial Trophy): Kuran Iverson (11.1) (Manawatu Jets)
  • Best Team Free Throws¬†(Nial Forsyth Trophy): Wellington Saints
  • Assist Champion (Dave Taylor Trophy): Lindsay Tait (7.6) (Super City Rangers)
  • Rookie of the Year: Max Darling (Canterbury Rams)
  • Coach of the Year: Jamie Pearlman (Nelson Giants)
  • Referee of the Year: Ryan Jones (Auckland)
  • Administrator of the Year: Bill Dahlberg (Nelson Giants)

All-Star Five:

  • G: Jarrad Weeks (Southland Sharks)
  • G: Shea Ili (Wellington Saints)
  • F: Winston Shepard III (Canterbury Rams)
  • F: Finn Delany (Nelson Giants)
  • C: Angus Brandt (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)



Form is temporarily not available. Please visit our contact page.